Need assitance with installation on Ubuntu on Windows

Hello TigerGraph Team members:

I am a novice in TigerGraph and I am just learning to use it from scratch now. Unfortunately, I can not get through the installation procedures. I am trying to install version 3.1.0-offline on Ubuntu on Windows. That is, Ubuntu installed in Windows that has identical interfaces as a real Ubuntu shell. By running ./install.sh or sudo ./install.sh and using default configurations

The default user who will own and run TigerGraph platform: tigergraph.
The default TigerGraph user’s password: tigergraph.
The default AppRoot of TigerGraph platform: /home/tigergraph/tigergraph/app.
The default DataRoot of TigerGraph platform: /home/tigergraph/tigergraph/data.
The default LogRoot of TigerGraph platform: /home/tigergraph/tigergraph/log.
The default TempRoot of TigerGraph platform: /home/tigergraph/tigergraph/tmp.
The default ssh port used in TigerGraph platform: 22.
Please enter the number of node(s) that the TigerGrpah platform will be installed on (e.g. 3): 1
The default ip address of single node installation: 127.0.0.1.

I was always able to install it but starting tigergraph service always threw me an error. The error was

ExternalError (Failed to start executor(s); Failed to ssh to 127.0.0.1 with given credential; dial tcp 127.0.0.1:22: connect: connection refused.

In order to preclude networking issues, I manually deactivate all Windows Firewalls. Thanks!

Servus @Muenchen,

can you please check if SSH is running under Ubuntu?
sudo service ssh status

Grüße,
Bruno

Thanks, Bruno. I followed your advice and made several changes to the configuration file.

sudo vi /etc/ssh/sshd_config

PermitRootLogin yes
PasswordAuthentication yes
AllowUsers root

and then restarted SSH with

sudo /etc/init.d/ssh restart

this time when running the command you mentioned, it output

* sshd is running

I explicitly tested the connectivity of SSH over port 22, and it seemed OK