Substring operations

Seems like I might be missing something obvious, but I don’t see any substring, left, right, mid, or any operation to get a substring. In my specific case, I want the first 3 characters of a string attribute that can be of varying lengths.

I don’t see a way to make TRIM work for this.

string b = "aa ABC aaa";
    string c = " a A   ";

PRINT trim(BOTH trim(BOTH " " FROM c) FROM b);
    # prints "BC"

@markmegerian can you give me an example. I’ve never written this before, but instinctually I’m thinking of using the LIKE operator to do string matching or something like (above) or a combo of both.

TRIM
https://docs.tigergraph.com/dev/gsql-ref/querying/operators-functions-and-expressions#string-functions

https://docs.tigergraph.com/dev/gsql-ref/querying/operators-functions-and-expressions#like

Sure, here is an example. I don’t think I can combine LIKE and TRIM to get this to work.

Vertex Part - STRING partNum, STRING partDesc

The first 3 characters of any partNum is the category of part.
For instance, partNum J4566, “Front right body panel”
partNum J45 “Body panel”

I need to be able to go from J4566 to the first 3 characters to get to the category.

Note, I have changed the specifics, but this is the general idea. I don’t own the schema so I cannot change the data, I need to work with this. There is no EDGE between them, I just need to get to it using a simple substring(partNum,3) or something to that effect. While I realize that it would be ideal to have an EDGE, I still am interested in a general solution for substring.

I just verified GSQL doesn’t support substring. If you create a quick UDF like (not tested and not a C++ expert so you might need to tweak):

int main () {
inline string substring(string str, int b, int e)  
std::str.substr (b,e); 
return str;
}

source (C++ function http://www.cplusplus.com/reference/string/string/substr/)

Then to call:

partNum = J4566
b = 0
e = 2

substring(partNum,b,e)

# returns J45

# index 0 = J